West Bengal State University (Barasat, North 24 Parganas) was established by the Government of West Bengal through an Act (Act XXVIII of 2007) passed by the Legislative Assembly. The creation of the university took into account a long-standing public demand for setting up a university in this district. The university started functioning from the academic session 2008-09. Further, the State Government, through a notification (No 300-Edn (U)/IU-38/08 dated the 26th May 2008), transferred 57 colleges, formerly affiliated to the University of Calcutta, to the newly established University. The logo of the University comprises a traditional Indian earthen lamp (Pradeep) which is underlined with a motto (lakshya vishwamanam). The lighted lamp signifies the enlightenment of the individual soul leading to the realization of one’s self as an integral part of the vast cosmos. Further, men unite in light and become separated in darkness. The logo speaks the hope of a unified enlightened future community. The University has progressed a lot over last one year. Work on the LAN and WAN is progressing as the University envisages e-enabled classrooms, library and offices. A large volume of the university’s communications with students, affiliated colleges and University faculty is through the extensive use of the ICT infrastructure. It is already apparent that this ensures instant communication and therefore is the basic infrastructure for efficient governance. The University had problems but many of the problems have been overcome by now under able leadership which is presently trying tooth and nail to march forward with utmost sincerity.

Copyright © 2016